County Executive Announces Creation of Airport Task Force

NEW CASTLE, DE – New Castle County Executive Matt Meyer has announced the creation of a task force of business and community leaders to consider the current and possible new economic vision for the Wilmington Airport (ILG). The task force will assess the benefits of diversifying the business model at the airport and consider any management strategies to accomplish that goal. The task force will work with a consultant who would be engaged for approximately four-months to analyze and assess economic opportunities to support the growth of existing tenants, new job creation and revenue generation. The task force will submit a recommendation report by April 30, 2020.

The agreement to manage and operate the airport, between the County and the Delaware River and Bay Authority (DRBA) is set to expire in 2025. According to the agreement, the County is required to inform DRBA by June 30, 2020 if the County decides to renew or terminate the existing agreement.  
“The Wilmington Airport is one of the largest and underutilized assets owned by New Castle County.  We owe it to the taxpayers and residents of New Castle County to ensure this airport is creating jobs and generating revenue. The task force is comprised of talented and experienced individuals who have specific expertise to lend to the conversation regarding existing for future opportunities.  I look forward to their findings.”

The County will contract with a consultant firm to assist the task force.

The members of the task force are: Alan Levin (Delaware Economic Development Office – retired), Rick Deadwyler (Corteva), Paul McConnell (McConnell Johnson), Lt. Col. Michael Hales (Director of Aviation Programs for Delaware State University), Cathy Rossi (AAA), Ralph Kunz (COO, Greenwich AeroGroup, Summit Aviation), Dr. Debbie Bullock, Chris Buccini (Principal, Buccini/Pollin Group), Mitch Dishman (Dassault Aircraft Services), Dr. Laura Johnson (Delaware Technical Community College), George Smiley and Ken Woods (New Castle County Council).

 For more information about the process and detailed timeline, visit,