New Castle County sells state-issued dog licenses ONLY as a service to constituents
State law requires dogs 6 months or older to be licensed by March 1 each year.
You have to show proof they had rabies shots to buy state dog licenses.
For spayed/neutered dogs, licenses are $10 a year, $15 a year for “not fixed” dogs.
Licenses also are sold for two and three years for dogs with rabies shots lasting that long.
But the state gives no discount on multi-year dog licenses.
In person – Go to Delaware Humane Association, 701 A St., Wilmington, DE 19801. Extra fees may apply.
Online – Visit the PetData Website to buy them with credit cards.
By mail – Print a website form, send with check/money order and photocopies to prove rabies inoculation and spay/neuter surgery to State of Delaware Dog Licensing, c/o PetData, Box 141929, Irving, TX 75014.
Call the state Office of Animal Welfare at (302) 255-4620. Learn more at its website.
Report animal abuse, dogs at-large
Report cruelty, abuse, neglect, hoarding, dumping or abandonment to (302) 255-4646.
For animal control, call (302) 255-4620.