News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/22/2020 10:51:36 AM to 6/22/2020 10:52:00 AM.

News Flash

Executive - Press Release

Posted on: June 22, 2020

[ARCHIVED] County Executive Meyer announces New Castle County Scholarship awardees

New Castle, DE – New Castle County Executive Matt Meyer Matt Meyer, Delcastle Technical High School Principal Dr. Clifton Hayes and Scholarship Committee Chair Natalie Washington awarded scholarships to 27 New Castle County residents from the county’s $50,000 scholarship fund, with most ranging from $500 to $3,000. More than 200 students submitted applications for the 2020 New Castle County Scholarship. The scholarship presentation was held virtually through a Zoom ceremony and broadcast live on Facebook.

“I’m so pleased to be presenting these scholarships to these very special County scholars,” said New Castle County Executive Matt Meyer. “These students, especially during the pandemic all faced adversity, and we’re proud to reward them for their very hard work. I wish them continued success in their academic career.”

County Executive Matt Meyer launched the inaugural New Castle County Scholarship Program in March of 2019, offering need-based financial support to New Castle County residents, including residents of Wilmington and other municipalities, who are currently enrolled or will attend an accredited post-secondary undergraduate program in the summer or fall of 2020. The scholarship was also available to non-traditional students such as adult learners seeking a college education. Students applied by providing biographical and academic information and penning a short essay. A review committee of local educators and community leaders identified finalists, conducted interviews in May and selected recipients who demonstrated financial need. The diverse group of recipients represent 22 institutions of higher learning.

Name                          Fall 2020                                    Current School 

Yennifer Campos        University of Delaware               University of Delaware

Annie Papaneri           University of Delaware               Delaware Technical Community College

Tai Alexander              Jones Bowie State University    Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Thomas McVey           Pace University                            William Penn High School

Odunayo Ogunbo       University of Delaware               Delcastle Technical High School

Dennisse Reyes-Jaico Wilmington University               Wilmington University

Tiffany Ambriz-Duran Bowdoin College                        Conrad Schools of Science

Shoan Oommachan     University of Delaware             Newark High School

Yezame Rubelo            University of Delaware              Alexis I. DuPont High School

Nana Ohemaa Asante University of Delaware            University of Delaware

Elsie Bredu                     University of Delaware            University of Delaware

Jordanna Wagner         Goldey-Beacom College          Goldey-Beacom College

Ashley Potter                 DTCC                                          Delaware Technical Community College

Jada Thomas                 Allegheny College                    Allegheny College

Jahnaye Robinson        Delaware State University      Delaware State University

Rachel Gray                  University of Delaware            William Penn High School

Makada Houston         Bucknell University                   Alexis I. DuPont High School

Pragyat Khanal            Duke University                         Newark Charter High School

David Bacigalupi         University of Delaware             University of Delaware

Carissa Hamrick          University of Hartford

Kahliel Nichols              DTCC                                          Delcastle Technical High School

Chianna Spencer         University of Delaware            Delcastle Technical High School

Destiny Samuels          Towson University                    Conrad Schools of Science

Malachi Smith-Hines    Delaware Tech - Stanton       Odyssey Charter High School

Niderah Goldsborough UMES                                        Delcastle Technical High School

Dylaan Jarmon              Howard University                  The Tatnall School

Luke Wojciechowski     Thomas Jefferson University Caravel Academy

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Executive - Press Release

County shares story on Hope Center family

Posted on: November 15, 2023

Disaster Declaration Update

Posted on: October 27, 2021

WOW! What is going on with the sun?

Posted on: August 16, 2017

Holiday event canceled at Carousel Park

Posted on: December 5, 2016
Mannequin Challenge moment (3).jpg

Donations sought for prom gown giveaway

Posted on: November 15, 2016

“Year of the Senior Citizen” Declared

Posted on: February 11, 2016

County resumes normal operating hours

Posted on: January 26, 2016

County’s New Website Now Live

Posted on: March 18, 2014

New Castle County Dog Licenses Due March 1

Posted on: February 24, 2014