News Flash

Executive - Press Release

Posted on: August 25, 2020

County Exec Meyer announces $1.5M grant program to address food insecurity


New Castle, DE – New Castle County Executive Matt Meyer announced a $1.5 million formulaic grant program funded by the federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act today. These funds will be available to organizations who provide food directly to those in need. Organizations ranging in size, from the Food Bank of Delaware, to your local food pantry in your church or school will be eligible.

“Too many friends and neighbors are uncertain where they will get their next meal,” County Executive Meyer said. “We will deliver needed resources to organizations to get food to those most in need. No one in our county should sleep hungry.”

Non-profit groups, churches, and grass-roots organizations addressing food insecurity in New Castle County can complete an online application and receive funding to purchase needed food supplies.  The funds will be shared based on the number of people being served during the pandemic beginning Tuesday, August 25, 2020. Organizations interested in applying should visit

This grant program is part of a direct response to the work of New Castle County’s CARES Act Task Force. Both the Support Non-Profits Committee and the Assist the Most Vulnerable Committee identified food insecurity as a key challenge exacerbated by COVID-19 – and recommended supporting non-profits of all sizes that are feeding neighbors across the County. 

“Food insecurity was already a major issue in our area before the pandemic hit and it’s been our churches and non-profits that have stepped up to make sure our neighbors are able to keep food on the table,” Sen. Elizabeth “Tizzy” Lockman, D-Wilmington and Co-Chair of the Assist the Most Vulnerable Committee, said. “But as those food pantries run low and the donations slow to a trickle during the greatest public health crisis in 100 years, who can those organizations turn to for help? Thankfully, the New Castle County Government is answering the call by making sure these vital groups have the resources they need to continue assisting the communities who need it most.”

“Concerns about helping the many non-profits stepping up to serve those who are food insecure was a recurring theme in Support Non-Profits Committee meetings,” Jocelyn Stewart, Co-Chair of that Committee, said. “This program will ensure that the many groups, large and small, who are distributing food to families can access resources to support their missions and the residents of the county who need their help.”

Members of the Assist the Most Vulnerable Committee are: Co-Chair Senator Elizabeth “Tizzy” Lockman, Co-Chair Marcus Henry, Carrie Casey, Ian McConnell, Judge Aida Waserstein, Representative Nnamdi Chukuocha, Renee Beeman, Ashley Christopher, Chuck McCausland, and Midge Barrett.

Members of the Support Non-Profits Committee are: Co-Chair Jocelyn Stewart, Co-Chair Raye Jones Avery, Co-Chair Aundrea Almond, Councilman David Carter, Councilwoman Dee Durham, Kim Fortunato, Tina Betz, Kevin Smith, Dan Cruce, Carlos de los Ramos, Ceil DeFazio, Maria Matos, Teri Lawler, Daphne Evans, and Margie Lopez-Waite.

Community-based organizations, non-profits, houses of worship, or other organizations dedicated to eliminating hunger in New Castle County are encouraged to apply for support for their food purchases during the pandemic.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Executive - Press Release

NEA Big Read event features author Thi Bui

Posted on: February 14, 2024

County shares story on Hope Center family

Posted on: November 15, 2023

Disaster Declaration Update

Posted on: October 27, 2021

WOW! What is going on with the sun?

Posted on: August 16, 2017

Holiday event canceled at Carousel Park

Posted on: December 5, 2016
Mannequin Challenge moment (3).jpg

Donations sought for prom gown giveaway

Posted on: November 15, 2016

County’s New Website Now Live

Posted on: March 18, 2014

New Castle County Dog Licenses Due March 1

Posted on: February 24, 2014