News Flash Home
The original item was published from 6/25/2015 2:35:59 PM to 8/2/2015 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

Land Use - Licensing Building Permit and Inspection News

Posted on: June 25, 2015

[ARCHIVED] Building Code & Permitting Contractor Notices

2015 International Code Books for sale. With the adoption of the updated codes in March of this year, please note that all new building permits must conform to the new codes. Code books are now available for purchase within the Land Use Department. The prices are as follows:
2015 ICC Building Code $95 2015 ICC Residential Code $95
2015 ICC Existing Building Code $50 2015 ICC Swimming Pool & Spa Code $55
2012 ICC Energy Conservation Code $50 2015 Utility Codes coming soon
See for the administrative and adopted code amendment sections that define all adopted and enforced codes.

Delaware City takes over building permits and code enforcement. The Delaware City Code has been amended to incorporate building, plumbing, mechanical and electrical work by creating a Department of Building Inspection and Code Enforcement. They have also defined procedures related to property maintenance. With these new provisions, New Castle County will no longer have jurisdiction over permits and code enforcement within the city limits of Delaware City. Please refer to their website at for further details.

New Expired Permit guidelines. The Chapter Six Building Code states ‘If any permit contractor endorsement holder is determined to have in excess of five (5) expired permits at any given time, the Code Official may withhold additional permits until all expired permits have been satisfactorily addressed’ (06.03.012.O) and ‘Expired Permit Fine – for the first offense and thereafter, violators shall be subject to a fine’ of $25 per offense when a permit status is expired (06.03.012.M.2). These provisions are currently in effect and will stop additional permits from being issued once a contractor reaches the 5 expired permit threshold. The fine will be imposed starting in July of 2015.

State of Delaware adopts updated utility codes. With the recent adoption of the 2015 ICC HVACR, Fuel Gas and Plumbing Codes, NCC will start enforcing these codes for all new permits on August 1, 2015. Any utility permit submission prior to this date may also be designed to the 2015 codes, but the cut-off date for the previous code will be permits issued as of August 1, 2015.

Minimum design standards on plans. Please refer to section 06.03.013 for updated information required on construction documents. The updated Building Code defines minimum design requirements for the following permit types: non-residential, residential, swimming pools, non-residential mechanical and non-residential plumbing. Construction documents may not be accepted without the applicable requirements are time of permit submission.

Additional Info...
Facebook Twitter Email